Trend Rating: My Pics and Pans of the 2013 Design Forecast Part I

Every January the top decor trendsetters roll out their predictions for the most exciting new   design themes that are popping up in houses large and small.  Like in fashion, there are some great ideas that stand the test of time and others that fall flat and don’t appeal to the majority of design savvy shoppers.  (There is also a third category of trends that are uber popular for about a year, and then crash and burn once we’ve all seen them too many times: faux reindeer heads anyone?).

I am going to distill the lists for you here and give you my two cents on the best and worst of them all.

Pantone Colour

First I am going to tackle Pantone’s colour of the year: Emerald 17-5641.  Pantone describes the hue as “Lively. Radiant. Lush. A colour of elegance and beauty that enhances our sense of well-being, balance and harmony” and I would tend to agree BUT it must absolutely be used sparingly as a “pop” of colour, not as a decorating scheme.    I think that this one might be a fun thing to try…but I don’t see it sticking around for very long.  As with all the Pantone favorites (last year was “Tangerine Tango” and the year before was “Honeysuckle”), Emerald is a very strong colour that you have to absolutely love in order to look at it every day.  And for heaven’s sake please keep it out of the bathroom and bedroom;  there is nothing worse for skin tone than a greenish glow.  I give this one a 6 out of 10.

Here’s how to do it right:


Green Chair Green Curtains Green DoorGreen
Next, my least favorite of all the trends is Lace.  I’m not a fan of it in fashion or in decor because I think it can get really trashy or granny really fast (and after watching 10 minutes of the People’s Choice awards last night, I am almost completely over it: trashy lace-adorned dresses galore).  Elle Decor chose these two images illustrate the trend, one pretty pillow that shows the trend very well, and one very granny bed that I think should go away.  I give this one a 2 out of 10.

Lace 2

Lace 1

Next on the list is a look that I really like -it requires a great deal of courage and joie-de-vivre to pull it off right .  I am talking about a House and Home trend they called “Fearless Mixing”.  This is a wonderful style for those who like a lot of layering, pattern and colour.   With this look, balance is absolutely key because without it, things can go very wrong very fast.   Tips to keep in mind when decorating in this style: mix vintage pieces with new things to create time-period layers, use bold colours that maintain the same intensity (like lime green, aqua and amethyst), use textured rugs, curtains or upholstery to add texture and interest, mix in metallics for shine, ALWAYS use something plain without pattern or texture to maintain balance.  For sheer chutzpah, I give this one 9 out of 10.    

Fearless MixingHere are a few glorious examples from the December 2012 issue of Lonny Magazine featuring the home of designer Michel Van Devender in North Carolina.  She does this so very well…

Feraless Mixing 1Fearless Mixing 4 Fearless Mixing 3 Fearless Mixing 2Stay tuned for part II when I take on “brass”, “outdoors/in, “scandi” and “beige” (yes, it’s a trend- and I’ll explain why).

Leave a Reply

