New York Window Display

“I want these windows to be perceived as hallucinations”

“You have to do all sorts of things to make a stream of pedestrians into and audience”

David Hoey, Resident Window Display Artist, Bergdorf Goodman

As promised, here are a few of the fantastic window displays that caught my eye in New York.  I am a bit of junkie in this department, and am in awe of those that do it well.  Window displays are little pieces of theatre without the interference of technology that is so common in everything else.  They combine old-fashioned techniques of staging, perspective, characters and design.  I love that good windows are static, yet create life, movement and magic.  They are their own little worlds with the sole purpose of enticing passersby with a quick moment of “wow!”.  They sell products but also delight and entertain in an old-school kinda way.   Anyway, I won’t get too wordy here as this is such a visual medium.  Here are my faves:

Bergdorf’s:IMG_1990IMG_1989

Not sure where I saw this one….sadly.  But I really loved those soaring flamingoes and hits of pink:IMG_2005

Also at Bergdorf’s, Chinese New Year theme:IMG_1992Simple, yet super special for Valentine’s Day at Tiffany:

IMG_2047Anthroplogy:
IMG_2013Again, sadly not sure what store but I love the simple lyricism of it.IMG_2009Last but not least, a wacky and wonderful display for Moncler in Soho:
IMG_2155

For those who are interested, I want to recommend a film called Scatter My Ashes at Bergdorf’s for a inside look New York’s greatest department store and it’s amazing displays.

And THEN, for the serious enthusiast, check out this website for an incredible archive of windows from the past, Bergdor’s and otherwise.

Leave a Reply

